President's Body Guard







The President's Bodyguard (PBG) is an elite household cavalry regiment of the Indian Army. It is the senior-most regiment in the order of precedence of the units of the Indian Army.


Active:-1773 – present

Part of 50th Parachute Brigade


Motto(s):-Bharat Mata Ki Jai

(Victory to Mother India)


March:-Sare Jahan Se Achha, Hindustan Hamara


Size:-222 (4 officers, 20 JCOs & 198 soldiers)



Ceremonial during peace; Armoured reconnaissance & parachute pathfinders during war.


The primary role of the President's Bodyguard is to escort and protect the President of India which is why the regiment is based in the Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi, India. It is equipped as a mounted unit, with horses for ceremonies at the presidential palace and BTR-80 vehicles for use in combat. The personnel of the regiment are also trained as paratroopers and nominally are expected to lead in airborne assaults in the role of pathfinders. The regiment is the successor of the Governor General's Bodyguard of the British Raj.


Colonel of the regiment:-Colonel Anup Tiwary

Ceremonial chief:-President of



Identification symbol PBG


President's Bodyguard (PBG) is the oldest surviving mounted unit and the senior most regiment of the Indian Army. It was raised by Governor-General Warren Hastings in September 1773.

Hastings handpicked 50 troopers from the Moghal Horse, a unit which was raised in 1760 by local sirdars. In the same year, the Raja, Cheyt Singh of Benares (now Varanasi) provided another 50 troopers, who took the strength of the unit to 100. The first commander of the unit was Captain Sweeny Toone, an officer of the East India Company, who had Lieutenant Samuel Black as his subaltern.


The establishment of the unit was as follows:


1 Captain

1 Lieutenant

4 Sergeants

6 Daffadars

100 troopers

2 Trumpeters

1 Farrier

The Bodyguard was the only corps of cavalry in the Bengal Presidency until 1777 when two regiments of cavalry were transferred to the Company by the Nawab of Oudh. Both the regiments were raised in 1776.


  • The name of the regiment has changed throughout its history:


Year    Name

1773   Governor's Troop of Mughals

1784   Governor-General's Bodyguard

1859   Viceroy's Bodyguard

1944   44th Divisional Reconnaissance Squadron

1946   Governor-General's Bodyguard

1950   President's Bodyguard


Battle honours       

The President's Bodyguard has the following battle honours:


  • Java
  • Ava
  • Maharajpoor
  • Moodkee
  • Ferozeshah
  • Aliwal
  • Sobraon


all of which, except for "Java", are considered to be repugnant (i.e. earned during the British subjugation of India) and cannot be carried on regimental colours.


Operational history


The PBG first saw action in 1773–74, when it was deployed against Sanyasis – a band that ravaged the countryside in the guise of mendicants. Its next campaign was against Rohillas in April 1774 in the battle of St. George where the Rohillas were defeated completely.


            Other bodyguard units    


Before Independence, there were three more body guard units, one for each Presidency. These units were called Governor's BodyGuard (and not Governor General's BodyGuards). All these units were disbanded in 1947.


  • Governor's BodyGuard, Madras   
  • Governor's BodyGuard, Bombay
  • Governor's BodyGuard, Bengal


            Present status        


In 2003, the President's Bodyguard had an establishment of 7 officers, 15 JCOs, and 140 enlisted men, for a total strength of 180 men. Throughout its history, the Bodyguard has varied in size from 50 men when first raised, to 1929 men in 1845. However, it was usually around squadron size, or about 130 men.


By tradition, the Commanding Officer has always been of Brigadier or Colonel rank. Recruitment to the Regiment in India is now 1/3 each from Sikh Jats, Hindu Jats, and Rajputs, with officers and administrative staff from all over India.